preLighter Gautam Dey’s thoughts on preprints

6 September 2018

One of our most active preLighters, Gautam Dey, has written about his thoughts on preprints for the blog ‘We support preprints’. Read it here.

Meet the preLighters: an interview with Heath MacMillan

22 August 2018

Heath MacMillan is an Assistant Professor at Carleton University in Ottawa. His lab is studying the mechanisms of thermal tolerance in insects and aims to answer questions like ‘Why can one species survive a Canadian winter while the other cannot?’ We caught up with Heath to talk about his research, lab and preprints.    […]

Preprints promote transparency and communication

13 August 2018

preLighters Carmen Adriaens, Gautam Dey, Amanda Haage, Wouter Masselink, Sundar Ram Naganathan, Lauren Neves, Teresa Rayon, Samantha Seah, Srivats Venkataramanan wrote a commentary in response to a news article in Nature, which was published on the Node.   ‘How can we have preprints and support good journalism?’ Tom Sheldon, a senior press manager at the[…]

‘This month in preLights’ – new blog post on The Node

9 August 2018

We have started a monthly blog post on The Node where we summarise the preLights in developmental biology and related fields. Read our first post here.

preLights posts are now featured in The Company of Biologists journals

1 August 2018

Three of The Company of Biologists journals (Development, Journal of Cell Science, Disease Models & Mechanisms) now feature preLights posts each month in their online Table of Contents (eTOC). The lists include the title of the highlighted preprints, their short ‘tweetable’ summaries and links to the preLights posts and the preLighter’s profiles.  

Meet the preLighters: an interview with Erik Clark

15 June 2018

Erik Clark is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Cambridge in the lab of Michael Akam. Erik studied at Oxford and Imperial College London before starting his PhD, where he worked on segmentation patterning in Drosophila. Erik has won a number of grants and awards, among them the BSDB Beddington medal for the best[…]